A Few More Thoughts on the Peace Prize

Awards should be for achievement.  Awards are earned.  Awards derive their meaning from the effort required to achieve them.

A gift is something received without it being earned.

Hopes and aspirations aren’t achievements.  They are only thoughts that haven’t produced results.

Alfred Nobel was the inventor of dynamite.  He used his fortune to create the Nobel prizes.  His will said that the Peace Prize should be awarded “to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Clearly, President Obama hasn’t accomplished anything yet to earn this award.  It was a gift from the Peace Prize Committee.  I think President Obama understands.  He said, “I am both surprised and deeply humbled by the decision of the Nobel Committee.  Let me be clear:  I do not view it as a recognition of my own accomplishments, but rather as an affirmation of American leadership on behalf of aspirations held by people in all nations.  To be honest, I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many of the transformative figures who’ve been honored by this prize — men and women who’ve inspired me and inspired the entire world through their courageous pursuit of peace.”

I don’t fault President Obama for being selected for the Peace Prize.  I think he was as surprised as any of us.  I do criticize the Committee for their choice.  It’s a selection without merit.  Another step toward showing that the Peace Prize has little to do with peace and more and more a way to promote a leftist political point of view.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “A Few More Thoughts on the Peace Prize”

  1. CALIFORNIA GIRL :o) Says:

    I agree with you completely. What has he done in the last 9 months to deserve this award? Nothing that I can think of! If I had been in his shoes I would be embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

