Take a Hike Day

I'm the second in line--with a green backpack

I'm the second one in line--with the green backpack.

Is there a connection between taking a hike and getting lost?  If you tell someone to take a hike, is it like telling someone to get lost?  In the spirit of my last post on the importance of being kind, I’m going to assume that Take a Hike Day refers to putting one foot in front of another for an extended period of time.

I jumped the gun on Take a Hike Day by going on a very nice hike Saturday.  It was a 13-mile plus day, with a 1000′ climb the first 1.5 miles of the day.  I blogged about the hike here. Saturday’s hike was in the Santa Monica Mountains with 7 geocaching friends.  It took longer than I had expected, but I enjoyed the entire trip.

Hiking has been one of my favorite past times for a long, long time.  I’m glad someone thought of giving hiking its own day on the calendar.

Me--taking some photos.

Me--taking some photos.

So, Go Take A Hike.  And I mean that in the good sense of the phrase.  And don’t Get Lost!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Take a Hike Day”

  1. CALIFORNIA GIRL :o) Says:

    Great pictures! Glad to hear you had a good time. I recognized your hat :o) in the picture.

Leave a Reply

