Archive for September 9th, 2009

The Rejuvenated Hubble Space Telescope

September 9, 2009

NASA has declared the rejuvenated Hubble Space Telescope fully operational and has released the first images from it.

For the full story and a gallery of some spectacular photos, click here.

09.09.09

September 9, 2009

09.09.09.  I’m not one of those who think that numbers have special power; I just like the symmetry of today’s date.

California became the 31st state of the Union on September 9, 1850.  I’ve lived here most of my life and have tour most of the state.  (I think that I’ve visited 56 of the 58 counties.)  I’ve been to (or very near) the corners of the state.  I’ve been to the top–Mt. Whitney (14,496 ft.)–and I’ve been to the bottom–Badwater, Death Valley (-282 ft.).  I’ve visited all but one of the state’s National Parks (I’ve been to the Channel Islands NP Visitor Center and have been very close to Anacapa Island, but haven’t yet set foot in the National Park.)  California is a great place.  If we could just get our politicians to quit making a mess of things, California would been much better.  Happy 159th Birthday, California.

I’ve placed a geocache especially for 09.09.09.  If you are a geocacher, celebrate by stopping by.  It’s a quick and easy find.  Check it out here–09/09/09.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.