Hermit Day

My calendar tells me that it is Hermit Day.  Hermits are people who would rather live alone than among others.  With all the hustle and bustle of modern life, with technology making it possible to be contacted pretty much anywhere and anytime, I’m sure there is a certain attractiveness to the hermit life.  I think that the lure of the hermit life is counterfeit.

I spent 3 days without seeing more than 2 or 3 people.  I hiked about 60 miles in the Sierra alone.  I wasn’t doing it to be a hermit.  It was just something that I wanted to try.  I’m glad that I did it, but clearly the experience was missing something very important.  There was no one to share the beauty with.

The solitary life of a hermit misses the interaction that is so important in life.  When a prisoner needs extra punishment, he is put in “solitary”–his connections with others are taken away.

Perhaps the best way to celebrate Hermit Day is to do something to acknowlege how important and meaningul your connections with others really are.  Give someone a call.  Send someone a note or a card.  Especially if that person is someone living alone.  Better yet, visit.

Tags:

One Response to “Hermit Day”

  1. CALIFORNIA GIRL :o) Says:

    I will make a connection on Hermit Day by telling you and Wendy how much you mean to me! :o) Hope you have a happy “Hermit Day”! :o)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

